Canadian government has authorized its 10 provinces and 3 territories to nominate foreign nationals for permanent residency, by separate agreements with each. As a result of this Canadian provinces and territories select people who are in demand in those provinces and territories. Each province and territory has its own set of requirements for nomination. Usually provinces nominate in following categories:

I. Skilled Workers

II. Entrepreneur


IV. International students

V. Temporary foreign workers

Quebec has its own system and authorization for nomination. It does not fall in PNP.